Proper prior planning prevents…

Proper prior planning prevents…

Outreachy Week 6: Modifying expectations

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

…poor performance.

Well, that’s just a thing I’ve always liked to tell myself and people that care to listen while growing up. It stuck with me since I heard it first in my junior secondary school days.

I tend to prepare or plan for any little thing I want to do, instead of just jumping right into it. I plan to cook, design, read, learn, and everything. I even planned to write this blog post!

I can be spontaneous sha.

It has always worked, I guess. Even when things don’t go as planned, there’s always a cover-up plan so I don’t sulk.

To bring you up to speed, I’m still interning with ODK-X to design and provide UI components that will improve the inconsistencies in all the ODK-X Apps. That’s the goal. We were all made to propose project timelines for the 13 Week Outreachy internship which went through reviews from the mentors.

Following the timeline, here’s what I’ve done so far;

  • I carried out User Research and a mini-UX Audit to find UI inconsistencies in the ODK-X Apps using Tables as a use case.

  • My co-intern and I identified and prioritised issues on GitHub based on the feedback.

  • I have updated our colour palette to suit modern conventions in our Style Guide.

  • I am currently designing UI components to solve each of the identified issues. These UI solutions would ensure consistency across all ODK-X Tools while my co-intern is implementing the changes in the Android library.

I think my progress so far has been in tandem with my initial project proposal and nothing has been delayed from my end. What helped me was the sync between my timeline and that of my co-intern. We decided to sync our project timelines at the start of the internship so no one is left out, and no one is left with nothing to do––with the approval of our mentors of course. It helped us to work asynchronously in a really good way.

So far, I haven’t needed to modify my initial goals. Instead, I think I have moved faster than I planned.

And both of my mentors have been super helpful with feedback and support. They trust us to do our best work and are always available to respond to queries or clear up confusion.

Open Source issa go!!