What do you want to know?

What do you want to know?

Outreachy Week 5: Think about your audience

everything.

That’s how I combed through every line on every page in the ODK-X documentation. But still, I’m quite unclear about several things.

It's the 5th week. I’ve gotten neck-deep into the project and it's exciting!. Let me tell you about the ODK-X Community in this 3rd series of the Outreachy blogs.

What’s ODK-X?

ODK-X produces free and open-source software for collecting, managing, and using data in resource-constrained environments. What intrigued me about this community is the focus on ‘resource-constrained’ settings. Resource-constrained environments have unique constraints (e.g., cultures where people are unfamiliar with or afraid of technology, and environments where power and network connectivity are scarce and expensive) e.g., low-income communities, low bandwidth environments.

Everyone is super chill at ODK-X, especially my mentors. Our mentors are patient, calm and open to answering questions anytime.

Recently, the community has been focusing on their users and the experience they get from the ODK-X Tools being used. This is what allowed me to contribute to this Open Source project, even as a designer. I’m currently updating and improving the UI components of the apps for the ODK-X community.

UI components are interactive building blocks for every user interface. A user interface is basically the apps and websites that you use daily.

How am I doing that?

  • I collaborated with my fellow developer intern to conduct user interviews to get feedback from those who use these tools.

  • I also did a thorough UX Audit on ODK-X Tables––the mobile data curation app that allows users to visualize and update existing data––as a use-case for all the tools.

User Experience Audit aka Usability audit is the process of evaluating the user interface of a website or a mobile app to identify areas where the user experience can be improved.

  • I created a Research Report after this.

  • I’ve created issues to address some of the feedback on GitHub––our project collaboration tool––based on our feedback.

  • I’m currently working on them now.

Who are our users?

We have different categories of users. These include;

  • Deployment architects who customize the surveys and tables.

  • Programmers who work on our APIs.

  • Field workers who use the ODK-X tools on a day-to-day basis.

What are the tools used for?

ODK-X lets users build custom apps to gather, manage, and visualize their data. They include;

  • PATH; A global nonprofit improving public health.

  • World Mosquito Program; They protect communities around the world from mosquito-borne diseases.

  • The Red Cross and Red Crescent (IFRC); The world’s largest humanitarian network, comprising 192 National Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies working to save lives, build community resilience, strengthen localization and promote dignity around the world.

  • and many others.

If you find this exciting, you can join the open-source community by visiting: https://odk-x.org/community to get started. It's easy

I’ve been enjoying the past few weeks working on tools that are used by organizations and world-renowned companies. It has been an exciting journey and I'm looking forward to designing more stuff for ODK-X.

Side note: A friend asked if I’d like to continue with ODK-X after the internship, and I’m like yeahhh.

Â